A little Snap, Flickr, and Tweet

DSCN1130

Professor Laura Pohl discusses her career with student Claritza Jimenez

Students at Bootcamp learned about the art of photography and the ethics behind using Photoshop. But first, students started the morning finding new mediums to funnel their work through the World Wide Web.

USA TODAY multimedia journalist and adjunct professor Joshua Hatch threw us into the social networking deep end. I thought I was pretty savvy with my frequently-updated Facebook page, but he introduced us to other networking sites. While parents see these as distractions from homework, he explained the value of having your own photo database, blogroll, status updater, and most importantly, SEO-friendly tags.

DSCN1127

Students frequently take photos during lectures in order to hone multimedia skills.

The headlines need to be more than catchy–they need to actually relate to the subject you want people to be drawn to. What a novel idea, yet many of us ignore the value of direct thought. It’s also important that your content is free, linked to other related topics, and has an SEO-friendly URL. After all, what’s the point of writing if nobody reads?

I’ll admit, though, I got lost at Delicious. How much is too much? Do I need to put my photos on Facebook AND Flickr? Do people care enough to see my status on Twitter, my Blog, and Facebook? Do I surf the web enough to host a popular Delicious site? We collect many images and videos in class of professors speaking. At times, I feel that people snap their cameras more than take notes on what the professors says. How much is too much?

Professor Laura Pohl says journalists should NEVER pitch any photos. She started in print journalism, worked at my first internship site, USA Weekend, in Seoul for Dow Jones, and will teach at George Washington University this fall.

We all suffer from the 5 foot 7 inch disease she said. We tend to shoot photos at our eye level instead of exploring other angles. Among the many helpful hints, we learned the rule of thirds, different camera equipment, lighting strategies, lenses, pre-visualization, and ethics.

First and foremost, never stage your photos, she said.

One thought on “A little Snap, Flickr, and Tweet

  1. I like what you’ve written and I think many of your photos are very nice in lighting and composition. But why make everything so small? You make me feel like I need to run out to the optometrist!

    Keep at it.

    (Oh, and it’s “My sister and me.”) 😉

Leave a Reply

