The Beginning of the End: Final Cut

My slideshow story about the Small Mammal Zoo Exhibit is now up for viewing! We spent the majority of the morning critiquing slideshows for their visual appeal and audio quality.

http://www.hatchomatic.com/slideshows/nekoomaram/

But the main event of the day came with frustration, struggle, but in the end, success. I immediately texted my journalism friends and was tempted to email my professors. Ladies and gentlemen, I finally learned Final Cut Pro.

During a fire drill, Olmsted rounded up students. She warned of the harm in fearing technology.

During a fire drill, Olmsted rounded up students. She warned of the harm in fearing technology.

It wouldn’t be an understatement to say I came to American for the purpose of learning video editing. I had mixed feelings about the lesson, because part of me wanted to focus on the storyline. However, another part of me remembered why I decided to go to grad school, and what I needed to learn to make myself marketable in comparison to other journalism students. Plus, once you get the hang of it, video editing can be a lot like creating a piece of art.

Final Cut works as non-linear editing, meaning the editor can move audio/video clips around on the timeline without concern for the order of the video.  The program allows you to add voice overs to b-roll, create smooth transitions, and change the volume of your different audio tracks.

“The timeline is where the magic happens,” said Rob Roberts.  I started to see what he meant as the day progressed and my partner and I started laying out our content. In retrospect, it would have helped to get a few more establishing shots and audio. But other than that, we did an effective job of getting good soundbites from multiple perspectives. We also got great close-ups of rowers and boats lining the dock.

Marcus Shorter works in Final Cut on his video project.

Marcus Shorter works in Final Cut on his video project.

The hardest part, surprisingly enough, came when trying to upload our video from the camera to the external hard drive. Sounds easy, right? Today was yet another lesson in problem solving during technical difficulties. It can take one careless mistake, like forgetting to save to the right file, to ruin a project. Once we got the kinks worked out, it felt great to see the project unfold.

One thought on “The Beginning of the End: Final Cut

Leave a Reply

