To the Land of Trees: Portland

Just because Bootcamp is over, doesn’t mean I should stop blogging, right? Well, as long as I’m doing something interesting, I say press on! I’ll admit, I was a bit nervous flying out to Portland for the first time after spending months in Washington, D.C. I thought Portland must be a mix between Denver and Austin, complete with mountains, nature, hipsters, indie music and eccentric bookstores. I lived in Austin for a few months in college and ended up loving its down-to-earth charm, where NO ONE wore business suits yet everyone was well educated and intellectual. And boy, did I miss those hipsters.

After twelve hours of travel, I finally made it to the opposite end of the country. To my surpise, I wasn’t met with a coat of heat and humidity. In fact, it was actually quite cold! Below are some highligts of the trip thus far:

There were three puppies and a cat on this one planeride from Chicago to Portland

There were three puppies and a cat on this one plane ride from Chicago to Portland

This is where the house I'm staying at is located--the NE side of the city, facing the mountains

This is where the house I'm staying at is located--the NE side of the city, facing the mountains

Portland is known for its microbreweries. Rogue Ales is a local favorite.

Portland is known for its microbreweries. Rogue Ales is a local favorite.

One of the many colorful stores in Portland

One of the many colorful stores in Portland

Look! Wind energy!

Look! Wind energy!

Powells Bookstore, probably the biggest bookstore I've ever seen

Powells Bookstore, probably the biggest bookstore I've ever seen

Wilson, the sweetest pup

Wilson, the sweetest pup

Leave a Reply

