My new site: Student Journalist Hub

Although my wordpress.com blog has served me well, it’s time for me to get an upgrade.

Today, I begin working on my Interactive Web development class project and hopefully a successful startup site that will teach me all I need to know about starting my own Web site/business. Ladies and gentlemen, I present you, the Student Journalist Hub: a web site dedicated to forums, links and commentary for undergraduate student journalists. We all learn from fumbling through new technology and experiences. This will be a chance to learn from my mistakes and the mistakes of my fellow journalist colleagues.

Today, I bought my domain name, set up a wordpress.org account and bought hosting through GoDaddy.com. I figured GoDaddy would be a good way to go because my blog, ladannekoomaram.com, is already set up through GoDaddy and it’s less expensive than places like DreamHost.

It was a bit of a challenge at first, but I bought my name for only $1.99 (www.studentjournalisthub.com), set it up for a 3 month pay period, and set up my GoDaddy FTP. The best part about setting it up through GoDaddy was that they have a special hosting for wordpress that made it so I didn’t have to download anything from wordpress.org or install it through their site (http://wordpress.org/download/www.studentjournalisthub.com), set it up for a 3 month pay period, and set up my GoDaddy FTP. The best part about setting it up through GoDaddy was that they have a special hosting for wordpress that made it so I didn’t have to download anything from wordpress.org or install it through their site (http://wordpress.org/download/). I looked at my GoDaddy FTP and everything was already set up for me.

I decided to test out the features of the site to see if it would allow multimedia that wordress.com couldn’t. I was able to embed a flash presentation by first uploading it to my ftp and putting it onto the page itself. If you import it as “media” without going through the FTP, WordPress just creates a link that opens up the flash on a separate tab. I also tried Coveritlive, and they provided an embed code that worked on the page. Yay. Now I have to build my own theme and find the widgets I want that will help with the community building aspect.

Leave a Reply

