No one says it better than Leona

When it comes to life, love, your future, your passions, your heartaches, and your happiness, sometimes a song says it better than any ole blog post. When I listen to my iPod on the metro, I tend to play the same…oh..ten songs on repeat, and they’re usually from the same artist. Right now, those songs are the following:

“Telephone” Lady Gaga

“Bad Romance” Lady Gaga

“Kids” MGMT

“Give it up to me” Shakira

“My hands” Leona Lewis

“Alone” Celine Dion

“Happy” Leona Lewis

“Hello Seattle” Owl City

“Everything” Lifehouse

“Human” the Killers

Not exactly classics, but they’ve come to represent certain moments of my life in DC. It’s what I need to walk up that hill to the metro, wake up after two hours of sleep the night before, and sit through the long and uncomfortable rides home after work. Today, I’m really feeling “Happy” by my girl, Leona.

As the lyrics go, sometimes we have to deal with a little pain in our search for happiness. We might have late nights, long hours, stupid decisions, but they all come with the territory. I’m going to have to take a few more leaps and risks within the next few months, and instead of being afraid of rejection or utter humiliation, I need to think of it as a part of the journey.

Do I want to go for that impossible job? Do I want to juggle multiple projects while making time for friends? Do I keep up with an insane workout even if it leaves my entire body in pain? Do I suck my parent’s money to keep living in the place I love until I start making my own? Do I risk getting my heart broken for the second time in a year?

Deep breath…and yes to all of the above. Because it’s all about the pursuit of happiness, even if it hurts. Take it home, Leona.

Someone once told me that you have to choose
What you win or lose
You can’t have everything

Don’t you take chances
You might feel the pain
Don’t you love in vain
’cause love won’t set you free

I can’t stand by the side
And watch this life pass me by
So unhappy
But safe as could be

So what if it hurts me?
So what it I break down?
So what if this world just throws me off the edge,
My feet run out of ground
I gotta find my place
I wanna hear my sound
Don’t care about all the pain in front of me
I just trying to be happy
I just wanna be happy, yeah

Holding on tightly
Just can’t let go
Just trying to play my role
Slowly disappear

But all these days
They feel like they’re they’re same
Just different faces
Different place

Get me out of here
I can’t stand by the side
Ooh, no
And watch this life pass me by
Pass me by

So what if it hurts me?
So what if I break down?
So what if this world just throws me off the edge?
My feet run out of ground
I gotta find my place
I wanna hear my sound
Don’t care about all the pain in front of me
I’m just trying to be happy

Oh, happy
Oh

So when it turns that I can see???
This rope??
Victim??
Don’t say anything

So what if it hurts me?
So what if I break down?
So what if this world just throws me off the edge?
My feet run out of ground
I gotta find my place
I wanna hear my sound
Don’t care about all the pain in front of me
I just wanna be happy
Happy
I just wanna be
Oh
I just wanna be
Happy.

Leave a Reply

