How to Finally Get the Job

Wow…it’s been a while since I’ve last written on my blogs, although I’ve been on a computer for almost twelve hours a day for the past month. Long story short, I accepted a job at a D.C. area think tank where I’ll be managing their social media, website, online communications and spending countless hours reformatting their articles to fit an archaic content management system. But that’s how the story goes at almost every organization. Luckily, I happen to be at one that has the resources and drive to fix problems, upgrade systems and expand rather than grasp on for dear life.

For now, I find myself so busy with the tasks I have to do that I have little time for much else–research, personal website time, sleep and outside education. I’m also helping a new media company write proposals for new clients, which will allow me to think more creatively and strategically about social media marketing. I’d love to have a week off where I could sit and deeply assess what needs to be done at my dayjob to make things run quicker and more efficiently. I guess I’ll save that for the holidays.

With that being said, I still greatly admire anyone who has taken a lesser paying, more insecure job in journalism because I know just how hard it is to do what you love and make a living from it. Maybe one day I’ll go back to reporting, but I love working with websites and thinking of new strategies of connecting with fans and spreading good content. When it comes down to it, understanding the desires of those who explore the web, dispersing valuable information and building a brand are all vital tools in journalism and online communication.

Although I miss engaging with others on my Twitter account, reading all the foreign policy news I can get a hold of and going to bed past 12:00, I am happy to finally feel that sense of security/certainty I’ve been looking for and will make the most of the experience.

 

Now after months of searching, networking and getting published, how did this one end up working out?

a) Being at the right place at right time

b) Never stopping work (I never stopped interning, freelancing and working on projects)

c) Great references from past places that couldn’t hire me

d) Continued networking (not just to ask for something, but for equal exchange of ideas)

e) Good ideas, new ideas

f) eagerness, enthusiasm, willingness to work long hours

g) mad skills

The most important is “right place, right time.” To do this, you need to BE at the right place, doing the right thing and assert that eagerness, skill and innovation. It also helps to be at a company where your efforts could potentially pay off through good clips, references or hell, even a job. It took three months, but it happened.

Leave a Reply

